Monaro Sports Gallery

Over the years many members of the community from  have participated with great enthusiasm in their sporting endeavours. 

Council endeavours to promote a healthy lifestyle and active participation in sports by providing sports facilities and infrastructure.

This has been the cases locally, nationally and in many cases, internationally. Many years ago Cooma-Monaro Shire Council established the Monaro Sports Gallery in the outer vestibule of the Council Chambers at 81 Commissioner Street, Cooma. 

No new names had been added to the gallery for many years until several residents competed in the Winter Olympics of 2010 in Vancouver, Canada.

Following these Olympics a celebration was held on the 10th of April 2010 and Apex Park in Sharp Street was renamed Apex Achievement Park and a plaque recognising these participants installed. 

The need was also seen to provide an avenue for new inductees into the Monaro Sports Gallery. The Monaro Sports Gallery Selection Policy was adopted in July 2012 and as new nominations are accepted will be updated.
  1. Andrew Crimmins
  2. Thomas Crimmins
  3. Ben Sim
  4. Josh Alford
  5. Owen Russell
  6. Rodger Sands
  7. Victor Fraser
  8. Helen Theunissen
  9. Leslie Thomas
  10. Edward Haslingden
  11. Christine Rayner
  12. Kyrra Grunnsund
  13. Jim Flynn
  14. Jeffery Bradley
  15. Harry Worthington
  16. Louise Gowar
  17. Claret
  18. Peter Payten
  19. Jean Wolfe
  20. Christine Smith
  21. William Day
  22. Danny Collman
  23. Mirrabooka
  24. Myrtle Boate
  25. Llodes Moriarty
  26. Sidney Bottom
  27. Harold Walker
  28. Ronald Biilman
  29. Mark Robinson
  30. Tom Robinson
  31. Stanley Love
Downhill Mountain Bike Racer - 2015 

Andrew Crimmins Podium

Andrew was born on 8 August 1997. He grew up in Bredbo where he attended Bredbo Public School and then Monaro High School. Andrew is into his second year as an apprentice carpenter. From a young age Andrew loved riding bikes and motorbikes.

He followed his brother into downhill mountain bike racing at the age of 10.

Since then Andrew has been U15, U17 and U19 Australian National Champion and five times National Series Champion.

In 2013, at the age of just 16, Andrew won the NSW State Series and Championships in Elite Men. This was following on from his great form at his first ever international race, Crankworx in Whistler, where Andrew took the win in the Canadian Open DH in 16 – 18 Men.

In December 2013 the inaugural Australian Open was held at Thredbo as part of the Cannonball Festival. Andrew won Pro Men in a field containing multiple World Cup riders, taking home the biggest ever prize money for an Australian mountain bike race. Andrew retained his 2013 Australian Open Champion title by winning again in 2014.

Andrew represented Australia at the 2014 Junior World Championships in Norway placing 13th and was named as a finalist in the Cycling Australian Junior Mountain Bike Cyclist of the Year awards in 2014.

Just recently Andrew won the 2015 Junior Oceania Championships in Toowoomba and on the same weekend also became 2014/15 Junior National Series Champion. Andrew competed in the 2015 Downhill National Championships in Bright and won the Junior category. These results will see Andrew again selected to represent Australia at the World Championships at Andorra, Spain in September 2015.