Local Environment Plan

Local Environmental Plans (LEPs) guide planning decisions for local government areas. Through zoning and development standards, they allow councils to supervise the ways in which land is used.

Snowy Monaro Regional Council was established on 12 May 2016. The former Council LEPs are still current for the former Shire areas. 


As of 1 December 2021, a reference to an Environment Protection zone E1, E2, E3 or E4 in a document should be taken to be a reference to a Conservation zone C1, C2, C3 or C4. For further information please see Standard Instrument (Local Environmental Plans) Amendment (Land Use Zones) Order 2021 (nsw.gov.au)

Current Name New Name
Zone E1 – National Parks and Nature Reserve Zone C1 – National Parks and Nature Reserves
Zone E2 – Environmental Conservation Zone C2 – Environmental Conservation
Zone E3 – Environmental Management Zone C3 – Environmental Management
Zone E4 – Environmental Living Zone C4 – Environmental Living